The Tennessee Foundation for Architecture was established in 1985 in loving memory of Nashville architect Edward J. Meiers, AIA. His energetic involvement with the community, church and professional elevated public opinion and awareness of architecture.

The Elbridge B. White Endowment allowed the Foundation to expand its purpose beyond scholarships and to reach out into communities across Tennessee.  The work of the Foundation continues in memory of other notable Tennessee architects: James Booher, AIA; Clayton Dekle, FAIA; Alan Jones; DeBerry McKissack, AIA; Burney Tucker, AIA; and Charles W. Warterfield, AIA.

“The mission of the American Architectural Foundation and the Tennessee Foundation for Architecture is to stimulate, foster and increase awareness of architecture, with a vision of a society that participates in the shaping of the built environment”  – Norman Koonce (1996)

The mission statement of the Foundation established its intent to provide:

  • Scholarships for exceptional students of architecture,
  • Grants for research, preservation, film and video projects on Tennessee architecture,
  • Grants for K-12 school classroom study programs on the quality of design and the fundamentals of the built environment, and
  • Grants for document preservations, exhibits, and architectural writing intended to foster public awareness of the built environment.